Day 2 – Something I feel strongly about

Day 2 – Something you feel strongly about

 

Well, this is hard… I guess, I feel strongly about three different things especially right now. These are things that should be given light considering how Filipinos can be.

First up is the rape culture here in the Philippines.

As a woman living in an urban city, I am not a stranger to cat calls, creepy commuters and drug-addled homeless people. I live in Quezon City and went to Manila for college. I commute everyday and one of my biggest fears was being touched or just getting attention from men in jeepneys or while walking. I’m also not a stranger to pervy relatives. I’ve had officemates who have very twisted perception regarding women and their place in society.

One of my officemates once joked about another officemate (woman) how she just looks oh-so-innocent but she probably had a dirty personality and just playing hard to get. I was positively livid when I heard him say that. It was not right in so many levels. This is the same officemate who also informed me that women should just be used to their boyfriends/husbands cheating because it’s a man’s nature.

I was mad, of course. But I was also told how I ‘overreacted’ because he was just kidding. I think that people should take rape more seriously because it is a seriously traumatic experience. I wasn’t raped but I had first-hand experience with perverts who deserve some jail time. It’s not funny when it happens to you. It’s not funny as a joke. It’s not a laughing matter at all.

Rape can happen everywhere. There is seriously no safe haven when it comes to these things. Once something happens to you, it changes how you see people, how you act around everyone.

Second would be bullying/cyberbullying.

Oh my gosh. I don’t even know how many times I’ve been bullied or even cyberbullied. This matter literally made me want to die several times in my 20 years of life.

Perhaps one day I’ll be comfortable enough to lay down the details here in my blog. What I can say right now is that I was bullied when I was in elementary. I was (without sounding too boastful lol) pretty. You know, the ideal thin girl, with the pretty smile and all that crap. I was a source of insecurity by people around me. I was bullied because I was that person. I’ve received hate mails from that website ask.fm so I had to stay away from that site. Fake Facebook accounts message me or my boyfriend telling crazy things about me and trying to drive us apart. (didn’t work so suck on that)

I got wider and fatter back in the last year of high school but I guess I maintained being pretty. (still not sounding boastful lol) I was bullied in college for wearing make-up, having a boyfriend and failing my class. I am being bullied most days because of my weight now. You just can’t satisfy people *rolls eyes*

Yes, sometimes you just have to let people be and not care about what they think. Easy to say, but pretty hard to do. You get affected. Period. You will be affected no matter how you say that you don’t care.

Is there something wrong with me? I don’t think so. It’s their perception of me that’s wrong but of course, it’s still somewhat my fault. I had to make adjustments even when I know I shouldn’t.

I’m pretty traumatized by bullying. It changed me from being a cheerful, friendly person to someone who observes her surroundings first before being able to decide if I can be myself in the place or not.

And I want to raise awareness as to how it could affect people being bullied. As well as awareness for parents, role models, educators. This has to stop.

For both the rape culture and bullying issues, victims should be able to speak up. Behaviours like these cannot be tolerated. It has to be corrected.

 

Last would be mental health awareness in the Philippines.

When you go to Ayala cinemas, you’ll see an advertisement regarding signing a petition to have the legislative government prioritize mental health laws in the country.

I can’t tell you the statistics but I’m pretty sure we know some people we think have mental health problems. I think I have a mental health issue.

Is it diagnosed? No. I don’t have money to have myself diagnosed by psychiatrist nor does my health insurance covers it. I’m sure others have the same story.

A lot of people choose to end their life because of life’s hardships and people won’t just be driven to that point if they receive the help they need. Older generations will laugh this off or even chalk it up to laziness or stubbornness. That’s the sad part.

We had to sign a petition for the senate and the congress to pay attention to such an alarming case. It’s so effin’ sad.

I want to be diagnosed. I want the government to have the resources for me to do this. Filipinos should be aware how important mental health is and how it affects our daily lives.

 

These are some things I feel strongly about. I would certainly educate myself more about these issues and how I can help others. I’ll keep you posted!

Author: niahespiritu

20 | Quezon City, PH | slydeer from asianfanfics.com

Leave a Reply

